Welcome to EEGD

The Engineering Geology Division of GSA is the oldest engineering geology organization in the United States. We are the only GSA division to have our own publications series and we support state of the art presentations at our meetings. Since engineering geologists use knowledge within all fields of geology in their application of our science to benefit society, we are truly the interdisciplinary division. 

Quick Hits

  • Please join us for the EEGD Business Meeting at GSA 2014.  The meeting will be held on Sunday, 19 October 2014: 1:00 PM-5:00 PM at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver Brighton room.  
  • Please join us for the EEGD Awards Banquet, to be held on Tuesday, 21 October from 6:00 – 11:00 PM at the Rogue Kitchen and Wetbar, 200 Burrard Street, Convention Center, Terrace Room

  • EEGD would like to encourage you to attend the first annual Student Awards Competition at GSA 2014.  We will be having both a poster session and an oral presentation session.  The poster session will be held on Tuesday, 21 October 2014: 9:00 AM-6:30 PM, Vancouver Convention Centre-West Exhibition Hall C, with the authors in attendance from 9:00 to 11:00 AM, and 5:00 to 6:30 PM.  The oral session will be on Monday, 20 October 2014: 1:00 PM-5:00 PM, Vancouver Convention Centre-West 213

  • The EEGD webpage for GSA 2014 is finally up-to-date.  You can view all of the EEGD-related sessions at events on our GSA Conference page.

  • EEGD is pleased to announce that we will be having a Student Awards Competition at GSA 2014.  Please submit your abstracts to Session T98. Environmental and Engineering Geology Student Research Completition at the GSA meeting website.  Abstracts are due on Tuesday, July 29th, 2014.

  • EEGD is launching the Environmental and Engineering Geology Community through the GSA website.  The purpose of this initiative is to facilitate inter-division communications and encourage collaboration between members.  Please visit the new community website and contribute!

  • Abstract submission is now open for the Annual GSA Conference in Vancouver, 19-22 October 2014 .  Abstract are due on Tuesday, July 29th, 2014.  Submit your abstract and find more information at the GSA meeting website.

  • EEGD is seeking nominations for the following awards (deadlines are in parentheses):
  • Congratulations to the 2014 EEGD Award Winners:
    • Jahns Lecturer - Eldon Gath
    • Distinguished Practice - Lew Rosenberg
    • Meritorious Service - Jim McCalpin
    • E.B. Burwell Award - Turner, A.K. and Schuster, R.L., 2012, Rockfall; Characterization and Control: Transportation Research Board, Miscellaneous Publication, National Academy Press, Washington D.C., 658 p. plus DVD-ROM
    • Shlemon Scholarship Awards - Sarah Lindsay Poluga (Kent State University), Ethan Faber (Colorado School of Mines), Na-Hyun Jung (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee), John Wall (North Carolina State University).
  • Congratulations to newly elected 2013-2014 EEGD Management Board:
    • Chair - Dennis Staley (USGS)
    • Vice-Chair - Bill Burns (Oregon DOGAMI)
    • Secretary - Matthew Crawford (Kentucky Geological Survey)
    • Member-at-Large - Thad Wasklewicz (East Carolina University)
    • Thanks to our outgoing Chair, Norm Levine (College of Charleston) for his dedication to the division over the past four years!
  • In light of the popularity of the offer, EEGD is continuing to offer FREE MEMBERSHIP IN EEGD for students.  Visit the GSA Membership website to register now!!!
  • ATTENTION STUDENTS - Please check the awards page for information on the Roy J. Shlemon Scholarship Fund.  This fund consists of two awards, the Roy J. Shlemon Scholarship Award, which supports Doctoral and Masters level Research, and the Roy J. Shlemon Meeting Award, which helps defray the costs of of meeting attendance for both graduate and undergraduate students.  Meeting award applications are due three months prior to the conference you plan on attending.

  • The Environmental and Engineering Geology Division is seeking a volunteer(s) to edit our Newsletter and webpage.  Please contact Dennis Staley (dstaley@usgs.gov) if you are interested.

Recent News

21 October 2013:

  • We are pleased to annouce that Greg Hempen has been selected as the 2013 - 2014 Richard H. Jahns Distinguised Lecturer.
  • We are pleased to annouce that Luis Gonzales de Vallejo and Mercedes Ferrer have been awarded the 2013 E.B. Burwel Jr. Award for their publication Geological Engineering  published by Taylor and Francis, 700p.

  • We are pleased to announce that Chelsea Windus, Matthew Waugh and Ian Donovan have have been selected as recipients of awards from the Roy J. Shlemon Scholarship Fund in Engineering Geology.  More information can be found here.

  • 23 January 2013:

    What's New

    Greg Hempen is the 2013-2014 Richard H. Jahns Distinguished Lecturer
    To schedule a lecture at your school or organization, contact Greg at greg.hempen@urs.com or (314) 743 4136

    Celebrate the 125th Anniversary at GSA 2013 in Denver, CO
    The Geological Society of America is celebrating its 125th Anniversary in 2013 with a yearlong series of events focusing on Celebrating Advances in Geosciences - Our Science, Societal Impact and Unique Thought Processes.  

    Upcoming GSA and EEGD Events and Deadlines