SEPMHomeDivision Officers
Division Bylaws
Newsletter Archives
Annual MeetingStudent InfoInternet Resources




Division awards include the Laurence L. Sloss Award,Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award, SGD Student Research Grant Awards, and Student Poster Awards


Awardee 1999 ~ William R. Dickinson
Awardee 2000 ~ George D. Klein
Awardee 2001 ~ Robert H. Dott, Jr.
Awardee 2002 ~ Allison R. "Pete" Palmer
Awardee 2003 ~ Robert J. Weimer
Awardee 2004 ~ James Lee Wilson
Awardee 2005 ~ Theresa E. Jordan
Awardee 2006 ~ Gerald M. Friedman
Awardee 2007 ~ Michael A. Arthur
Awardee 2008 ~ Peter G. DeCelles
Awardee 2009 ~ Raymond V. Ingersoll
Awardee 2010 ~ Hugh C. Jenkyns
Awardee 2011 ~ John P. Grotzinger
Awardee 2012 ~ Gail M. Ashley
Awardee 2013 ~ Fred Read
Awardee 2014 ~ Christopher Paola
Awardee 2015 ~ Jody Bourgeois

Rules and Procedures:

1) Sloss Award Committee. The Sloss Award Committee will consist of six Sedimentary Geology Division members. The initial Committee will be appointed by the Division chair and will consist of two individuals who will serve 1999, two individuals who will serve 1999-2000, and two individuals who will serve 1999-2001. In 2000 and subsequent years, two individuals will be appointed by the Division Chair for three-year terms; one of these individuals will be the previous year's recipient, if that person is willing to serve. A Chair of the Sloss Award Committee will be appointed for 1999-2000; in subsequent years the Chair of the Committee will be selected by the Division Chair.

2) Nominations Procedures. Nominations will be from the Division membership at large, and should consist of a letter describing the Nominee's accomplishments in the field of sedimentary geology and contributions to GSA, as well as a Curriculum Vita. Nominations should be forwarded to the Division Secretary-Treasurer, who will forward the dossiers to GSA Headquarters for copying and dissemination to the Sloss Awards Committee. The Nominee need not be a member of the Division or of GSA, but must have made valuable contributions to the Society. The dossiers of nominees who did not receive the award in any given year will be retained and considered for two succeeding years; thus, nominations are valid for a total of three years. Updated information for carry-over candidates may be sent to the Division Secretary-Treasurer during the ordinary call for nominations. Sloss Award Committee members are encouraged to initiate nominations for the Award.

3) Recipient Selection. The Sloss Award Committee may use whatever means they deem appropriate to select two candidates, whose names will be forwarded to the Management Board of the Sedimentary Geology Division. The Management Board will then determine, by simple majority vote, the recipient. The recipient will be confirmed by majority vote of the GSA Council.

4) The Award. The Award will consist of a certificate and a cash award of $1000. The Award will be presented at the Division Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony at the Annual Meeting of the Geological Society of America. The citationist will normally be the nominator, or other individual selected by the recipient in consultation with the Division Chair.

5) Endowment. The financial portion of the Award will be supported by an endowment held by the GSA Foundation. Contributions may be made to "Laurence L. Sloss Award for Sedimentary Geology Endowment Fund."

6) Timetable. The normal timetable for recipient selection will be as follows:
- Fall: Appointment of new members to the Sloss Award Committee
- Fall-Winter: Solicitation of nominations
- 1 March: Deadline for nominations
- 1 April: Sloss Award Committee presents two candidates to the Management Board
- 15 April: Management Board selects the recipient and forwards the name to GSA Council
- Second week of May: GSA Council votes on approval of recipient
- Late October or early November: Presentation of Award at the Division Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony (in connection with the Annual Meeting)

7) Sloss Award Committee Members.
Dr. Robert H. Dott, Jr., Chair: 1999-2000
Dr. Gerald R. Friedman: 1999
Dr. Teresa Jordan: 1999-2001
Dr. Gerard Middleton: 1999
Dr. Claudia Mora: 1999-2001
Dr. Rudy Slingerland: 1999-2000
Dr. William R. Dickinson: 2000-2002
Dr. J. Fred Read: 2000-2002
Dr. George D. Klein: 2001-2003
Dr. William Normark: 2001-2003
Dr. Gail M. Ashley: 2002-2004
Dr. Marjorie A. Chan: 2002-2004



Awardee 2010 ~ Christopher Thissen
Awardee 2011 ~ Veerle Vandeginste
Awardee 2012 ~ Erika Swanson
Awardee 2013 ~ Peter Mozeley

Awardee 2014 ~ Randolph Williams
Awardee 2015 ~

The Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award Fund promotes research combining structural geology and diagenesis, and curriculum development in structural diagenesis. The donors believe multidisciplinary approaches often reveal new insights into long-standing problems and expose productive avenues for enquiry. To help promote the cross disciplinary emphasis of this annual award, the Sedimentary Geology and Structural Geology & Tectonics Divisions have been designated to jointly select the recipient.

Graduate students, postgraduate and faculty level researchers are eligible.

This award addresses the rapidly growing recognition that fracturing, cement precipitation and dissolution, evolving rock mechanical properties and other structural diagenetic processes can govern recovery of resources and sequestration of material in deeply buried, diagenetically altered and fractured sedimentary rocks. The award highlights the growing need to break down disciplinary boundaries between structural geology and sedimentary petrology, exemplified by the work of Dr. Stephen Laubach and colleagues.

Application Instructions for the Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diageneis Research Award
Your completed application should include:
1. A title page with the information listed below
2. <5 page double spaced proposal (excluding references and figures)
3. Recent curriculum vitae (< 2 pages)
4. Proposed budget page (we anticipate giving one award of $2500 in the coming year)

Information for the title page:
1. Name
2. Mailing Address
3. Email
4. Position (MS, PhD, postdoc, Assist. Prof, Assoc. Prof, Prof).
5. Academic Institution.
6. Other agencies that: (i) have supported this project; (ii) are supporting this project; or (iii) are being applied to. Include title, dates and level of support.
7. Project title
8. Justification: Explain how this proposal fits the purpose of the Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Award (<100 words)
9. Abstract of proposed work (<250 words)

Please refer to the Structural Geology & Tectonics Division website for further information.

Email PDF version of the complete proposal to Dr. Whitney Behr (


NewRead: Spring 2015 Newsletter inside SEPM Sedimentary Record

NewAttend: 2015 GSA Annual Meeting, November 1-4, Baltimore, Maryland, USA (see meeting website) - Abstracts due August 11th


2015 Laurence L. Sloss Award recipient Dr. Jody Bourgeois of University of Washington

2015 SGD Student Research Award recipient John Chesley, graduate student at the University of South Carolina,

2015 Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Award