Geological Society of America

 Structural Geology & Tectonics Division


Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award Fund (Nomination deadline -- April 1, 2016):

The Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award Fund promotes research combining structural geology and diagenesis, and curriculum development in structural diagenesis. The donors believe multidisciplinary approaches often reveal new insights into long-standing problems and expose productive avenues for enquiry. To help promote the cross disciplinary emphasis of this annual award, the Sedimentary Geology and Structural Geology & Tectonics Divisions have been designated to jointly select the recipient.


Graduate students, postgraduate and faculty level researchers are eligible.


This award addresses the rapidly growing recognition that fracturing, cement precipitation and dissolution, evolving rock mechanical properties and other structural diagenetic processes can govern recovery of resources and sequestration of material in deeply buried, diagenetically altered and fractured sedimentary rocks. The award highlights the growing need to break down disciplinary boundaries between structural geology and sedimentary petrology, exemplified by the work of Dr. Stephen Laubach and colleagues. The award alternates between being awarded by the Sedimentary Geology Division on odd numbered years, and the Structural Geology & Tectonics Division on even-numbered years, reflecting the focus of the award on this cycle.

Application Instructions for the Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diageneis Research Award


Your completed application should include:

   1. A title page with the information listed below

   2. <5 page double spaced proposal (excluding references and figures)

   3. Recent curriculum vitae (< 2 pages)

   4. Proposed budget page (we anticipate giving one award of $2500 in the coming year)


Information for the title page:

   1. Name

   2. Mailing Address

   3. Email

   4. Position (MS, PhD, postdoc, Assist. Prof, Assoc. Prof, Prof).

   5. Academic Institution.

   6. Other agencies that: (i) have supported this project; (ii) are supporting this project; or (iii) are being applied to. Include title, dates and level of support.

   7. Project title

   8. Justification: Explain how this proposal fits the purpose of the Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Award (<100 words)

   9. Abstract of proposed work (<250 words)

Proposals are due April 1, 2016.

Email PDF version of the complete proposal to Dr. Mark Evans (

Previous Awardees:

2016:  Sebastian Cardona, Colorado School of Mines
2015:   Austin Boles, University of Michigan
2014:  Randolph Williams, University of Wisconsin - Madison
2013:  Peter Mozley, New Mexico Tech - Socorro
2012:  Erika Swanson (PhD student), Caltech
2011:  Dr. Veerle Vandeginste (postdoctoral researcher), Imperial College, London
2010:  Christopher Thissen (PhD Candidate), Yale University


horizontal rule