GSA TODAY I JULY 2014

2014 GSA Research Grant Recipients



The 2014 GSA Committee on Research Grants awarded US\$683,535 to 401 graduate students (52% of the 774 who applied), with an average grant of US\$1,680. The committee also selected 10 alternate candidates in the event that any grantees return all or part of their funds due to a change in their research project or receipt of funds from another source. The GSA Graduate Student Research Grant Program is funded by GSA, the GSA Foundation, GSA Divisions, and the National Science Foundation.

Committee members: Stephen Johnston (Chair), Olivier Bachmann, Luis Buatois, Shanaka de Silva, Elizabeth Diesel, Amy Draut, Maya Elrick, Robert Gastaldo, Stacia Gordon, Madeline Gotkowitz, Sarah Hayes, Micah Jessup, Lisa Park, Sarah Penniston-Dorland, Jeffrey Pigati, Michael Pope, Philip Prince, Richard Saltus, Jacob Sewall, Sarah Titus, Barry Warner, Paul Wetmore, Brent Wolfe, and Shuhai Xiao.

The following awards will be presented Monday, 20 Oct., at the 2014 GSA Annual Meeting & Exposition in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.



2014 OUTSTANDING MENTIONS

(proposals of exceptional merit in conception and presentation)

Kathryn Eccles

Boston University

Joshua Garber

University of California-Santa Barbara

Julie Griffin

University of California-Davis

Allan Lerner

Oregon State University

Adonara Mucek

Oregon State University

Bethany Murphy

Oregon State University

William Nachlas

University of Minnesota

Jason Nolan

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Amanda Pruehs

Wayne State University

Marie Turnbull

University of British Columbia



EXonMobil

2014 ExxonMobil/GSA Student Geoscience Grants

New in 2014: ExxonMobil recognized 10 of the top 30 GSA student research grant proposals with a grant of US\$7,500 each.

Ross Anderson

Yale University

Rebekah Cesmat

University of Washington

Kyle Deatrick

University of Texas at El Paso

Erika Freimuth

University of Cincinnati

Joshua Garber

University of California-Santa Barbara

Kealie Goodwin

University of Texas at Austin

Bethany Murphy

Oregon State University

Thomas Neal

University of Kansas

Nadine Orejola

Plymouth State University

Sarah White

University of California-Santa Cruz