



2014 SPECIALIZED AWARDS

Sponsored by the GSA Foundation

MARLAND PRATT BILLINGS AND KATHARINE FOWLER-BILLINGS RESEARCH AWARD

James Farrell, University of Connecticut

This award encourages and promotes geological fieldwork and related research in New England and adjacent regions.

GRETCHEN L. BLECHSCHMIDT AWARD

Andrea Price, McGill University

This award was established for women in the geological sciences who have an interest in achieving a Ph.D. in the fields of biostratigraphy and/or paleoceanography, sequence stratigraphy analysis, particularly in conjunction with research in deep-sea sedimentology, and a career in academic research.

JOHN T. DILLON ALASKA RESEARCH AWARD

Nicholas Bill, Oregon State University

This award honors Dillon's work on radiometric age-dating work in the Brooks Range, Alaska. Two areas which serve as guidelines for selection of the award are field-based studies dealing with the structural and tectonic development of Alaska, and studies which include some aspect of geochronology (either paleontologic or radiometric) to provide new age control for significant rock units in Alaska.

ROBERT D. HATCHER RESEARCH AWARD

Ross Anderson, Yale University

This award supports field-based research and geologic mapping through an annual award to an outstanding graduate student in the earth sciences to conduct research for that student's master's thesis or Ph.D. dissertation. Preference may be given to students working in the Appalachian orogeny broadly construed but is not restricted to this region.

JOHN W. HESS RESEARCH AWARD

Jacquelyn Cresswell, Texas A&M University Galveston

This award in karst research studies supports student research involving any aspect of cave and karst studies aimed at providing improved understanding of how caves and karst work, including how these resources can be better managed.

ROSCOE G. JACKSON II AWARD

Kealie Goodwin, The University of Texas at Austin

This award funds one recipient per year in the field of sedimentology.

LIPMAN RESEARCH AWARD

Emily Devers, Northern Illinois University

This award, which promotes and supports student research grants in volcanology and petrology, was established in 1993 and is supported by gifts from the Howard and Jean Lipman Foundation. The current president of the Lipman Foundation, Peter W. Lipman, was the recipient of a GSA research grant in 1965.

JOHN MONTAGNE AWARD

Nadine Orejola, Plymouth State University

This award was established in 2000 to support student research in the field of Quaternary geomorphology.

BRUCE L. "BIFF" REED SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

Benjamin Johnson, West Virginia University

This award was established to provide research grants to graduate students pursuing studies in the tectonic and magmatic evolution of Alaska (primarily) and also can fund other geologic research.

CHARLES A. & JUNE R.P. ROSS RESEARCH AWARD

Sarah White, University of California-Santa Cruz

This award was established in 2002 to support research in the fields of biostratigraphy, stratigraphy and stratigraphic correlation, paleogeography and paleobiogeography, interpreting past environments of deposition and their biological significance, and the integration of these research areas into better global understanding of (1) past plate motions (plate tectonics and sea-floor spreading); (2) past sea-level events, including their identification and ages; and/or (3) climate changes and effects of those climate changes on Earth's inhabitants through geologic time.

ALEXANDER SISSON RESEARCH AWARD

Thomas Neal, University of Kansas

This award was established by family members of Alexander Sisson to promote and support research for students pursuing studies in Alaska and the Caribbean.

PARKE D. SNAVELY, JR., CASCADIA RESEARCH AWARD

Rebekah Cesmat, University of Washington

This award supports field-oriented graduate student research that contributes to the understanding of the geologic processes and history of the Pacific Northwest convergent margin, or to the evaluation of its hazard or resource potential.

HAROLD T. STEARNS FELLOWSHIP AWARD

Alida Bailleul, Montana State University

This award was established by Harold Stearns in 1973 for student research on aspects of the geology of the Pacific Islands and the circum-Pacific region.

ALEXANDER & GERALDINE WANEK AWARD

Olivia Miller, University of Utah

This award was established in 2002 to support research dealing with coal and petroleum resources, mapping, and engineering geology, marine resources, petroleum economics, appraisal, and evaluation, and the geology of phosphate resources.

LAUREN A. WRIGHT & BENNIE W. TROXEL STUDENT RESEARCH AWARD

Michael Mohr, North Carolina State University

Abigail Ruksznis, Stanford University

This award supports two graduate students in masters or Ph.D. programs conducting field-based research (1) in the region broadly centered on Death Valley National Park or (2) in the western and southern Basin and Range Tectonic Province. This research grant is associated with the Structure and Tectonics Division.

DIVERSITY IN THE GEOSCIENCES MINORITY RESEARCH GRANT AWARD

Md. Aminul Haque, University of Manitoba

This award was established to promote and support minority students in the geosciences.

FAROUK EL-BAZ STUDENT RESEARCH GRANT

Abdel Mawgoud M.M. Mohammed, Western Michigan University, for his study, "Hydrochemical characteristics and potential tectonic influences on groundwater quality of the continental-scale Nubian Sandstone Aquifer System (NSAS)."

Elizabeth J. Rozar, Boise State University, for her study, "Modeling structural controls of antecedent topography and their effect on antecedent boundary conditions at Coral Pink Sand Dunes, Kane County, Utah."

This grant was established to encourage and support desert studies by students worldwide, either in the senior year of their undergraduate studies or at the masters or Ph.D. level.

EAST ASIA GEOSCIENCE AND ENVIRONMENT RESEARCH (EAGER) AWARD

This award, presented since 2003, provides one-year grants to support the Ph.D. theses and post-doctoral research of East Asian scientists. The award is open to scientists of the country hosting the annual CCOP conference. Past countries include: Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Thailand, and Vietnam. The 2014 recipient will be announced in October.