## 2015 GSA Research Grant Recipients



The 2015 GSA Committee on Research Grants awarded US\$723,570 to 391 graduate students (nearly 50% of the 784 who applied), with an average grant of US\$1,851. The committee also selected 10 alternate candidates in the event that any grantees return all or part of their funds due to a change in their research project or receipt of funds from another source. The GSA Graduate Student Research Grant Program is funded by GSA, the GSA Foundation, GSA Divisions, and the National Science Foundation. **Committee members:** Sarah Hayes (Chair), Olivier Bachmann, Maya Elrick, Stacia Gordon, Timothy W. Grover, Janet S. Herman, Christopher Holm-Denoma, Michael T. Hren, Micah J. Jessup, Elizabeth A. Johnson, Thomas C. Johnson, Todd A. LaMaskin, Andrew H. Manning, Sarah Penniston-Dorland, Jeffrey S. Pigati, Philip S. Prince, Richard W. Saltus, Jacob O. Sewall, Daniel M. Sturmer, James Vogl, Richard B. Waitt, Cheryl Waters-Tormey, Brent B. Wolfe, and Shuhai Xiao.

The following awards will be presented at the GSA 2015 Annual Meeting & Exposition in Baltimore, Maryland, USA.







## 2015 Outstanding Mentions

(proposals having exceptional merit in conception and presentation)

Levent Akinci, The Ohio State University Saurabh Ghanekar, University of

Wisconsin–Madison

**Calvin Mako,** Virginia Polytechnic Institute **Samuel Nath,** University of Nebraska–Omaha

Simone Runyon, University of Arizona

Sarah Schmitt, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Gaylen Sinclair, Oregon State University

Sarah Slotznick, California Institute of Technology

Kaydee West, University of South Florida

Brady Ziegler, Virginia Polytechnic Institute

## E**‰**onMobil

## 2015 ExxonMobil/GSA Student Geoscience Grants

ExxonMobil has recognized 10 of the top 30 GSA student research grant proposals with grants of US\$7,500 each.

Alejandra Borunda, Columbia University Ellen Chamberlin, Pennsylvania State University Cody Colleps, University of Texas at Austin Harrison Gray, University of Colorado Boulder Gerhard Heij, University of Oklahoma Katelyn Lehman, Cornell University Demian Nelson, University of California, Santa Barbara Marisa Bapasch, University of

Marisa Repasch, University of New Mexico

**Courtney Sprain,** University of California, Berkeley

**Theodore Them,** Virginia Polytechnic Institute