2016 GSA Research Grant Recipients

The 2016 GSA Committee on Research Grants awarded US\$741,738 to 359 graduate students (51% of the 699 who applied), with an average grant of US\$2,038. The committee also selected 10 alternate candidates in the event that any grantees return all or part of their funds due to a change in their research project or receipt of funds from another source. The GSA Graduate Student Research Grant Program is funded by GSA, the GSA Foundation, GSA Divisions, and the National Science Foundation.

Committee members: Thomas C. Johnson (Chair), Sarah Hayes (Past-Chair), Robert S. Anderson, Kristin Dorfler, Maya Elrick, Joshua M. Feinberg, Rebecca M. Flowers, Martin B. Goldhaber, Laurel B. Goodwin, Timothy W. Grover, Judith L. Hannah, Janet S. Herman, Christopher S. Holm-Denoma, Michael T. Hren, Alexandra R. Isern, Elizabeth A. Johnson, Sharon L. Kanfoush, Todd A. LaMaskin, Nicholas Lancaster, Kevin H. Mahan, Andrew H. Manning, Sarah C. Penniston-Dorland, Jeffrey S. Pigati, Richard W. Saltus, Jacob O. Sewall, Daniel M. Sturmer, Ellen Thomas, James Vogl, Richard B. Waitt, Brent B. Wolfe, and Shuhai Xiao.

Alternate committee members: Jonathan S. Caine, Alan R. Carroll, Ibrahim Çemen, Duane G. Froese, Steven E. Ingebritsen, Kitty Milliken, Mark K. Reagan, Benjamin Schwartz, Robert D. Shuster, and Dylan Ward.

The following awards will be presented at the GSA 2016 Annual Meeting & Exposition in Denver, Colorado, USA.







Outstanding Mentions

(proposals having exceptional merit in conception and presentation)

Ivan Carabajal, University of Cincinnati Mitchell Dziekan, University of Toledo Richard James, Montclair State University Emily Judd, Syracuse University Nicolas Roberts, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Elizabeth Rutila, Oregon State University

Joel Singley, University of Colorado Boulder

Jeffrey Thompson, University of Southern California

Ted Uecker, Central Washington University

Dustin Williams, California State University, Fullerton

ExonMobil

ExxonMobil/GSA Student Geoscience Grants

ExxonMobil has recognized 10 of the top 30 GSA student research grant proposals with grants of US\$7,500 each.

David Canova, Northern Illinois University

Gilbert Ching, Washington State University

Aubry DeReuil, University of Utah Ryan Gall, University of Utah Cristina Lugo Centeno, Syracuse University

Camille Mayberry, Central Washington University

Audrina Pryer, Northern Illinois University Ani Pytlewski, California State University, Long Beach

Evan Ramos, University of Texas at Austin **Danielle Shulaker,** Stanford University